Tuesday, July 24, 2018

Captain's Library ADVENTURES IN PARADISE "Circle of Fire" Conclusion

...Professor Malvin, a scholar obsessed with South Seas legends of a "King Shark" hires Adam Troy and his schooner, Tiki to travel to the island where the legend originated.
Arriving at the isle, the travelers meet the aged leader of the natives, who relates the tale and is then forced by Malvin to take them to the sharks' native waters, where freshly-killed poultry is used as bait to lure the "king shark" and his "court" to the Tiki!
While prolific and versatile artist Jack Sparling rendered this never-reprinted tale from Dell's Four Color #1301 (1962), the author is, sadly, unknown!
We felt the surreal shark-oriented story would be perfect for fans of Discovery Channel's Shark Week.
Note that Adventures in Paradise is not running on tv, nor is it currently available on VHS or DVD!
There are a few episodes on YouTube, though...
Please Support the Secret Sanctum of Captain Video! 
Visit Amazon and Order...
(Behind the Scenes book)

Monday, July 23, 2018

Captain's Library ADVENTURES IN PARADISE "Circle of Fire" Part 2

...a scholar obsessed with South Seas legends of a "King Shark" hires Adam Troy and his schooner, Tiki to travel to the island where the legend originated.
Arriving at the isle, the travelers meet the aged leader of the natives, who relates the tale...
Better take a break before we're eaten!
This never-reprinted tale from Dell's Four Color #1301 (1962), illustrated by Jack Sparling, was the only comic story about the series ever produced.
Considering the extreme verbosity of the script, I wonder if this was a script for a TV episode that was simply too expensive to produce, so the producers turned it over to the comic publishers and recommended it be adapted into graphic form.
It references backstory about the ongoing characters (shark-related incidents in their pasts) that licensed material like comics and paperback novels couldn't create independently, lest they contradict possible future stories on the show itself!
Please Support the Secret Sanctum of Captain Video! 
Visit Amazon and Order...
(Behind the Scenes book)

Sunday, July 22, 2018

Captain's Library ADVENTURES IN PARADISE "Circle of Fire" Part 1

Here's a surreal story from a TV series that could put the "shark" in Shark Week...
...if Shark Week had begun in the late 1950s-early 1960s!
To be continued...TOMORROW!
Wow!
This was psychedelic before there was psychedelic!
This never-reprinted tale from Dell's Four Color #1301 (1962), illustrated by Jack Sparling, was the only comic story about the series ever produced.
Considering the extreme verbosity of the script, I wonder if this was a script for a TV episode that was simply too expensive to produce, so the producers turned it over to the comic publishers and recommended it be adapted.
It references backstory about the ongoing characters (shark-related incidents in their pasts) that licensed material like comics and paperback novels couldn't create independently, lest they contradict possible future stories on the show itself!
Adventures in Paradise was a syndicated series airing first-run from 1959 to 1962, rerunning until the mid-1990s, when it apparently disappeared from American airwaves.
Created by James A Michner, though it appears he didn't script any episodes.
Adam Troy (Gardner McKay) was an American Korean War veteran who stayed in the Pacific after the war.
As captain of the schooner "Tiki III", Troy drifted from adventure to adventure while carrying passengers and cargo anywhere from Hong Kong to Pitcairn Island.
Such semi-anthology series were very popular back "in the day", especially if it involved exotic locales.
Please Support the Secret Sanctum of Captain Video! 
Visit Amazon and Order...
(Behind the Scenes book)

Monday, March 5, 2018

And the Oscar Goes To...

...a genre film and a genre director?
WTF just happened???
Not that I'm complaining, mind you!
I've loved Guillermo Del Toro's work since Cronos!
His fanboy-turned-movie professional career arc offers hope that any of us can follow in his footsteps.
And, unlike that other example of the same phenomenon, Quentin Tarantino, Del Toro doesn't crib shot-by-shot from previous work!
Yes, there's inspiration, but no direct swiping!
Congratulations, Guillermo!
You've more than earned the accolades!
Please Support Secret Sanctum of Captain Video
Visit Amazon and Order...